Skip to content

You Can Only “Like” Me

March 14, 2011

I recently added a Facebook page for Brandom Acts, (note the link, follow the link, like the page) where–in addition to the wisdom found in my blog–you can catch brief notifications on interesting marketing finds and tools. I am especially looking forward to the entire point of Facebook Pages: to create a dialog with folks and get some feedback on some of my work…In some ways, become my own virtual focus group. I defer to the wisdom and wealth of the Facebook creators and need to be OK that you can no longer be a “fan,” but instead, can simply “like” me.

The problem with Facebook feedback? The people that “like” you, will likely be polite and “like” your stuff, too. When I test a new concept, I’m looking for a gut-check. I want to hear about the first thing that came to a person’s mind. And gosh darn it, if it’s the truth, I want to be told that my concept is off the mark (read: sucks).

I’ve found an affordable (even free) solution to avoiding the “like” when what you really want to know is if an audience “loves” it or “hates” it and why. Fivesecondtest.com

Fivesecondtest.com lets you choose between public and private (by invite) feedback sources.
It got my brain churning about all they things I could ask a “crowd” to help determine:
Look at a logo and tell me what product it represents.
Look at an ad and tell me what message I am trying to communicate.
Simply put, it provides a “gut-check” about how well your image and message are being communicated.
5 seconds is a REALLY good way to test billboard creative, as it simulates the actual amount of time it would be seen.

But what about ongoing brand management?
How can I get an audience to engage with my products and drive the ideas?

Hello UserVoice! Again, the tool is available anywhere from free to free of ads. It lets users submit ideas, participate in discussion, leave feedback and vote. What got my attention is its ability to create an engaging environment. Both the administrator and the participant can see the ideas get voted to the top or be alerted if an idea is implemented. The tool also helps manage the noisy minority by regulating the voting.

IdeaScale is another tool that works to create a feedback community.

The great copy on their website was enough to draw me in:
“IdeaScale empowers communities to drive innovation.”
“IdeaScale gives you answers to the questions you never thought to ask.”

Sealing the deal, IdeaScale offers website and social media integration, as well as private community development!

The best brands realize they are only as good as their ability to relate and share the values of their audiences.
What better way to show your audience that you “like” them, than by embracing their ideas.

So…What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

